Climate communication award 2016

Photo (cc) flickr user

Nominations are now being accepted for the 2016 IAMCR Climate Change Communication Research in Action Award. Funded by the International Association for Media and Communication Research (IAMCR) and awarded in collaboration with the International Environmental Communication Association (IECA), the US$1,000 award seeks to recognise researchers whose work has had a notable positive impact on the practice of climate communication. Recipients do not need to be members of IAMCR or the IECA but only members of either organisation may submit a nomination. 

About the Award

IAMCR launched its Climate Communication Research Awards, the first of their kind, in 2014. There are two categories, awarded in alternate years: one for new research projects: New Directions for Climate Communication Research Fellowship (to be awarded biannually from 2015); and one honouring influential work: Climate Communication Research in Action (to be awarded biannually from 2016).

The award is part of IAMCR's policy to green its activities, receiving seed funding from a 2014 IAMCR Committee or Task Force Project Grant. IECA joined the initiative in 2015.

More information about the awards can be found here.


The award committee will consider nominations of any person whose research has had a notable positive impact on the practice of climate communication.  Nominations will be accepted from colleagues, co-workers or others who have a direct experience of the candidate’s work, but only members of either IAMCR or IECA may submit a nomination.  Self-nominations are discouraged.  This experience can be via an engagement with the nominees written work (academic or otherwise) and/or experience working alongside the candidate in climate change communication projects.   We expect nominations from a diverse range of media and communication climate change specialists and researchers.  All disciplinary fields are encouraged.  

As a guide, you may wish to consider some of the following questions:

  • In what role(s) or area(s) has the nominee excelled?
  • How has the nominee demonstrated work worthy of recognition?
  • How has the nominee’s contribution impacted on either a particular field, locality, group, community or humanity at large?
  • Over what period of time has the nominee made a major contribution?
  • Has the nominee’s contribution been recognised elsewhere (e.g. in the media, by other awards, professional/interest groups or through government)?
  • What makes this person stand out from others?


  • The deadline is May 6, 2016.
  • The nominator must be a member of IAMCR or IECA in good standing (i.e. paid up by the submission deadline).
  • The application should include:
    • A brief CV including publications;
    • A statement of the nominee’s contribution to the field (2000 word limit); and
    • The names of two referees able to comment on the nominee’s professional standing and conduct.
  • Nominations are limited to a total of 3000 words.


  • Nominations should be made in electronic form to the Award Committee at ClimateChangeAward2016 [at] (Subject: Climate%20Communication%20Research%20Award%202016) . The nomination is not complete until you have received a confirmation via e-mail.
  • The 2016 award consists of a cash prize (US$ 1000) and an honorary document marking the achievement. If the winner attends IAMCR 2016, she or he will also receive free registration.
  • Any bank transfer fees and similar administrative costs are borne by the recipient.
  • An award will not necessarily be made and decisions will be final.
  • If the award is made the winner will be notified 3 weeks before the 2016 IAMCR international conference.
  • Nominations are accepted in all of IAMCR's official languages (English, French and Spanish).

Send nominations to: ClimateChangeAward2016 [at] (Subject: Climate%20Communication%20Research%20Award%202016) with Climate Communication Research Award 2016 as the subject of your message.

Any organization (academic, non-profit, commercial, international) interested in co-sponsoring and helping to promote and carry on this project, please contact IAMCR’s Environmental Impact Committee at any time [contact].

Climate Communication Research in Action Selection Committee 2016

Chair: Toby Miller
Members: Kerrie Foxwell-Norton, Soenke Lorenzen, Sikina Jinnah