IAMCR 2020 Opening Plenary

Moderator: Kaarle Nordenstreng, Tampere University


Welcoming words by IAMCR President Janet Wasko, City of Tampere Mayor Lauri Lyly, and Tampere University President Mari Walls.



IAMCR President Janet Wasko announces the winners of the IAMCR 2020 awards:

  • Prize in Memory of Dallas W. Smythe - Rana K. Arafat (Institute of Media and Journalism, University of Lugano)
  • UCF/IAMCR Urban Communication Research Grant - Masduki (Universitas Islam Indonesia) and honorary mention to Preeti Raghunath (Symbiosis Institute of Media and Communication, India)
  • New Directions for Climate Communication Research Fellowship - Bronwin Patrickson (University of South Wales)


Keynotes on conference theme: "Reimagining the Digital Future: Building inclusiveness, respect and reciprocity"

The keynote presentations are provided with subtitles. Please apply CC to see the captions.

  • Changfeng Chen, Tsinghua University, Executive Dean of School of Journalism and Communication
  • Klaus Bruhn Jensen, University of Copenhagen, Professor of Communication
  • Kari Enqvist, University of Helsinki, Professor Emeritus of Cosmology


Teams and Programme

The organising teams in IAMCR and Tampere are shown by Kaarle Nordenstreng, Chair of the Local Organising Committee, and the programme structure is introduced by Secretary Genenal Gerard Goggin.