IAMCR 2024 Code of Conduct

IAMCR offers an open, inclusive, and safe scholarly environment for members from all backgrounds and locations, one that recognizes and is sensitive to issues of marginalization and vulnerabilities arising from particular identity positions. As such, the Association is committed to creating a collegial, welcoming space for all members, one that encourages discussion and resolution of any negative experiences that may arise for individuals during the course of interactions and events conducted by or under the aegis of IAMCR. 

In order to maintain such an environment, all members are expected to abide by the following code of conduct in both online and offline spaces, and in individual and group communications of the Association, irrespective of medium. At all times, members should conduct themselves in accordance with the values that the Association would like to live and work by: mutual respect, empathy, intellectual and moral integrity, a commitment to open knowledge, and fair and just scholarly exchange.

Unacceptable behaviours include but are not limited to the following:

  • verbal abuse (experienced in person or online)
  • verbal or physical actions that amount to bullying or harassment (unwanted sexual, racist, or other discriminatory or suggestive language, physical advances, touching that causes discomfort), particularly where there is a power differential between the parties
  • use of authority to coerce or demand favors, including but not limited to those sexual in nature
  • academic bullying or pressure
  • creating an environment that causes or exacerbates discomfort and vulnerability, especially for those from marginalized groups and for younger members


  • Use respectful language that is mindful of diversity and difference.
  • Seek consent before capturing and sharing images or content outside the context of presentations and panels
  • Engage in healthy debate and discussion
  • Be mindful of power differentials and act with empathy


  • Make derogatory or potentially offensive comments either in person or through online/social media channels
  • Indulge in deliberate intimidation or unwanted contact, including physical or online stalking, photography or recording, or undesired sexual attention
  • Engage in disruptive behaviour during conference sessions, whether conducted online or offline

Individuals who are deemed to have violated the code of conduct may face consequences that the Association sees as appropriate, and could potentially lead to loss of membership or debarment from IAMCR events.

If you experience harassment or are witness to anyone being harassed, please get in touch with one of the Confidential Contact Persons (CCP) listed below. All complaints will be treated with utmost confidentiality. The mandate for the CCPs may be found here. You could also speak to your Section/Working Group Head or a member of the International Council, and in such cases, request anonymity on further reporting if you wish.

Adopted on: 29 April 2024

Confidential Contact Persons for the period beginning May 1, 2024:

Usha Raman: usha.raman@gmail.com

Usha (she/her) is a professor at the University of Hyderabad in India, and has been serving as Vice-President of IAMCR’s EB since 2020. Her interests include feminist media studies, digital cultures, and science and health communication. She has participated in gender sensitization programmes and served on institutional complaints committees and ethics boards of several academic, research and civil society organizations. When she can escape academia, she writes poetry and is a podcast junkie, and sometimes loses herself in endless games of Scrabble.

Steph Hill: sh903@leicester.ac.uk

Steph (she/her) is lecturer at the University of Leicester, UK. Her research investigates how commercial interests and organisations are implicated in policy and regulatory processes, particularly in internet governance and environmental communication. She is chair of the Spinning Climate Change Working Group in the Climate Social Science Network and she has co-chaired the Emerging Scholars Network since 2019. Before moving to academia, Steph worked in a recycling yard, drew comics, and briefly worked in Canada’s book publishing industry. When she isn’t doing academia she hikes and goes birdwatching.

Rodrigo Cetina-Presuel: rodrigo.cetina@bsm.upf.edu

Rodrigo (he/him) is a Senior Lecturer and Associate Dean for Education and Academic Affairs at the UPF Barcelona School of Management. His body of research focuses on digital technologies and platform regulation, particularly on understanding and responding to disinformation during electoral periods to preserve the integrity of the process. He is the co-Chair of the IAMCR Law Section since 2019.

LOC Nominee

Linda-Jean Kenix: lindajean.kenix@canterbury.ac.nz

Linda-Jean (she/her) is Head of the School of Language, Social, and Political Sciences at the University of Canterbury. The School is home to seven distinct departments that include Media and Communication. Professor Linda-Jean Kenix has published two books, approximately 50 journal articles, and eight book chapters examining the agenda-setting role that media representations of marginalized groups have in societies around the world. She has been a visiting research fellow at Oxford University, the University of Cambridge, Monash University, and the University of Valencia. She received her PhD from The University of Texas at Austin in 2001 and worked as an Assistant Professor at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities until 2005 when she came to The University of Canterbury in New Zealand.

   University of Canterbury logo           IAMCR logo



Christchurch logo    100% New Zealand logo


                                                            university of waikato logo    Massey University College of Humanities and Social Sciences logo   RNZ

                                                            Auckland University logo  uni_of_otago_logoAuckland University of Technology logo

Victoria University logo        DistinctionChristchurchLogo    Scenic Hotel Cotswold POLITY LOGO