Several awards offered for IAMCR 2024

The deadlines have passed

Applications are no longer being accepted for any awards

IAMCR is offering several awards and grants for members participating in our 2024 conference. These include 25 travel grants of up to US$2,000 each, awards for excellent papers dealing with climate change communication, urban communication, or rural communication services, and new award in memory of Annabelle Sreberny.

Photo (cc) Unsplash user Giorgio Trovato


Applications for travel grants are no longer being accepted. The deadline was 18 March. Twenty five Travel Grants of up to US$2,000 will be made available to early-career scholars, who are members of IAMCR, reside in low and middle income countries and have papers accepted for presentation at our upcoming conference in Christchurch.


The Climate Change Communication Award will be given to three papers that display scholarly excellence, are innovative in nature, and have an explicit focus on climate change communication. The papers must have been accepted for presentation at IAMCR 2024. 


The Annabelle Sreberny Memorial Award will be granted to graduate students and early-career scholars for work that reflects the critical traditions embodied by Prof. Sreberny and that has been accepted for presentation at IAMCR 2024. Papers selected for the IAMCR Memorial Awards are required to display scholarly excellence and to be innovative in nature.


The Urban Communication Award, offered in collaboration with the Urban Communication Foundation (UCF), will be given to three papers that explore innovative approaches to urban communication. To be eligible, the papers must first be accepted for presentation at IAMCR 2024.


The Rural Communication Services Research Awards - In cooperation with the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), IAMCR is offering three awards of 2,700 USD to authors of papers that advance our understanding of applications of Rural Communication Services (RCS), particularly in the areas of agriculture, family farming, natural resource management, climate change adaptation, food security, and disaster risk reduction and management.

Note that the above four awards require two-steps to apply:

  1. Step one is to submit an abstract to IAMCR 2024 (deadline 7 February). Abstracts can be submitted to any section or working group for the Climate Change, Urban Communication and Sreberny awards. For the Rural Communication awards they must be submitted to the Rural Communication Working Group.
  2. Step 2 is to submit the final paper by 5 April (for the Climate Change, Urban Communication and Sreberny awards) and by 21 April for the Rural Communication Services award. The final papers will be reviewed by selection committees and the winners will be notified at the beginning of May.

   University of Canterbury logo           IAMCR logo



Christchurch logo    100% New Zealand logo

university of waikato logo    Massey University College of Humanities and Social Sciences logo     Auckland University of Technology logo       Auckland University logo

Victoria University logo        DistinctionChristchurchLogo    Scenic Hotel Cotswold POLITY LOGO