Special Session - Commemorating Brenda Dervin


This session will commemorate Brenda Dervin, who was Professor Emeritus of Communication at Ohio State University and served as the first female president of the International Communication Association from 1985-1987. She was active in IAMCR for many years, heading the Publications Committee and contributing in many other ways. She is known for her work in communication, library and information science, and for her Sense-Making Theory and Methodology, which has been widely adopted by researchers across disciplines. 

Date and Time

Tuesday, July 11th | 08h30 - 10h00


Salle des thèses


  • Angharad Valdivia (University of Illinois)
  • Janet Wasko (University of Oregon)


  • Naresh Agarwal (Simmons University)
  • Jörg Becker (Marburg University)
  • Andrew Calabrese (University of Colorado) 
  • Cees Hamelink (University of Amsterdam) 
  • Ullamija Kivikuru (University of Helsinki)
  • Robin Mansell (London School of Economics and Political Science)
  • Isabel Molina-Guzmán (University of Illinois)  
  • Kaarle Nordenstreng (Tampere University) 
  • Carrie Lynn Reinhard (Dominican University) 
  • Christine Urquhart (Aberystwyth University) 
  • Angharad Valdivia (University of Illinois) 
  • Janet Wasko (University of Oregon)
  • and others...

Sciences po Lyon          IAMCR

in partnership with:

Congres Lyon 1     Only Lyon


with the support of:

Universite Lumiere      Jean Moulin      Elico logo