Webinar - Communication in Africa & the Caribbean

Webinar - Communication in Africa & the Caribbean

Re-imagining Communication in Africa and the Caribbean: Global South Issues in Media, Culture and Technology.

20 May 2021 – 13h00 UTC / 09h00 New York / 14h00 London (BST) / 15h00 Paris / 16h00 Nairobi / 18h30 Kolkata / 21h00 Beijing

Pre-registration for this event is required by 18 May. Pre-register here.

As part of the IAMCR Webinar Series, the Communication Policy and Technology Section is pleased to organise an event to present the book “Re-imagining Communication in Africa and the Caribbean: Global South Issues in Media, Culture and Technology”. The edited volume brings together a selection of chapters from Africa and the Caribbean, which provide critical explorations of people and media in their diverse engagements with culture, and the emerging communication technologies. With change and reform at its core, the book traverses the domains of music as resistance, reforms to communication theory, resisting colonial and imperial legacies, advocating journalistic renewal, and exploring new corporate and cultural strategies, among other issues. It covers print journalism, broadcast radio and television, digital media, popular music, and video games—in a range of national and cultural contexts.

The book to be launched was published in January 2021 by Palgrave Macmillan, edited by Hopeton Dunn, Professor and Graduate Studies Co-ordinator, Media Studies Department, University of Botswana; Dumisani Moyo, Executive Dean, Faculty of Humanities, North West Universities, South Africa; William Lesitaokana, Senior Lecturer and Head, Media Studies Department, University of Botswana and Shanade Barnabas, Associate Professor and Head, Communications Studies Department, University of Johannesburg. The proposed programme aims for a maximum duration of 1 hour and 15 minutes. It will include remarks on the origin, editing and production processes; scope, themes and significance of the book, a video montage of chapter contributor’s comments; perspectives from sponsoring universities; and opportunities for discussion with the audience. 

Visit the publisher's website for the book.

The webinar is sponsored by the Communication Policy and Technology Section and will be moderated by Professor Dumisani Moyo, Executive Dean, Faculty of Humanities, North West Universities, South Africa.

Who can participate: The webinar is free for all IAMCR members but space is limited. Pre-registration is required by 18 May

Date & time: 20 May 2021 – 13h00 UTC / 09h00 New York / 14h00 London (BST) / 15h00 Paris / 16h00 Nairobi / 18h30 Kolkata / 21h00 Beijing

Location: The meeting will take place on Zoom.

Registration

There is no charge for IAMCR members, but pre-registration is required by 18 May. Pre-register here.


Webinars are free for all IAMCR members but space is limited so pre-registration is required.

About the series: The IAMCR Webinar Series aims to open channels for engagement and participation in addition to the association's annual conference, keeping IAMCR members connected and engaged with regular dialogue about issues of importance to the international media and communication research community. Join us!