Committees and Task Forces 2023-2024

IAMCR has various standing committees, task forces, and commissions.

Standing Committees are permanent bodies of the International Council with remits aimed at fulfilling key ongoing tasks within the organisation.

Task Forces or Ad hoc committees are permanent or temporary bodies of the International Council that fulfil other purposes.

Executive Board Commissions are entities that are mandated by the Executive Board to provide support in relation to a particular set of tasks defined by the Executive Board. The Executive Board is accountable towards the International Council for the work of the Commissions.

Standing Committees

  • Environmental Impact Committee
    Chair: Graham Murdock [contact]
    Vice-Chairs: Bene Brevini, Alana Mann and Jeremy Swartz
    Members: Anabela Carvalho, Julie Doyle, Kerrie Foxwell-Norton, Anders Hansen, Sadia Jamil, Tawana Kupe, Chris Paterson and Gerard Goggin (EB liaison)
  • Finance Committee
    Chair: Skye Doherty [contact]
    Members: Beate Josephi, Robin Mansell, Sandra Ristovska, Kanchan Malik, Francesca Musiani, Steph Hill and Elske van de Fliert.
  • Legal Committee
    Chair: Philippe Maarek [contact]
    Members: Adilson Cabral, Anastasia Grusha, Friedrich Krotz, Stefania Milan, Jo Pierson, Cees J. Hamelink (Honorary permanent member) and Nico Carpentier (EB liaison)
  • Conference Committee
    Chair: Gerard Goggin
    Members: Nico Carpentier, Elske van de Fliert, Bruce Girard, Preeti Raghunath and Eno Akpabio
  • Membership Committee
    Chair: TBA
    Members: Yik Chan Chin, Olesya Venger, Leah Jerop Komen, Jude William Genilo, Valeria Zamisch (IAMCR Secretariat) and Gerard Goggin (EB liaison)
  • Publications Committee
    Chair: Maria Michalis [contact]
    Members: Luis Albornoz, Marjan de Bruin, Sarah Cardey, Changfeng Chen, Joe Khalil, Levi Obonyo, Claudia Padovani, Pradip Thomas, Janet Wasko, Bruce Mutsvairo, Sadia Jamil and Usha Raman (EB liaison)
  • Scholarly Review Committee
    Chair: Thomas Jacobson [contact]
    Members: Aimée Vega Montiel, John Sinclair, Robin Mansell, Jo Pierson, Kaarle Nordenstreng, Denize Araujo, Marjan de Bruin, Changfeng Chen, Sandra Ristovska and Usha Raman (EB liaison)
  • Election Committee
    Chair: Beate Josephi [contact]
    Members: Robin Mansell and Eno Akpabio

Task Forces

Executive Board Commissions

Award Juries

  • Annabelle Sreberny Memorial Award Selection Committee 2024
    Chair: Claudia Padovani
    Members: Marjan de Bruin, Joe Khalil, Gholam Khiabany, and Sandra Ristovska
  • Urban Communication Award Selection Committee 2024
    : Janet Wasko
    Members: Nico Carpentier, Yong-Chan Kim, Yiannis Christidis, Cees Hamelink and Deborah Philips
  • Climate Change Communication Award Selection Committee 2024
    : Graham Murdock
    Members: Hanna Morris, Kerrie Foxwell-Norton and Jeremy Swartz