Travel Grants

2018 travel grant recipients

Above: 2018 Travel grant recipients

2017 travel grant recipients

Above: 2017 Travel grant recipients

2016 travel grant recipients

Above: 2016 travel grant recipients

IAMCR offers travel grants of up to US$ 1,500 each to members who are early-stage scholars and would otherwise be unable to attend our conferences.

Applicants must have been IAMCR members for at least one full year (i.e. it must be at least their second year as a member of the association), reside in a low or middle income country (see IAMCR's country classification list), and have an abstract accepted for full presentation at the conference. Details, including deadlines and procedures for applying, are announced early each year on the website, newsletter, mailing lists and various social media.

Below are some messages and articles we have received from past travel grant recipients. Please consider making a donation to the travel grant fund. It's a great way to encourage emerging scholars and new perspectives within IAMCR.

Donate in Euros
Donate in USD
Sandro Macassi, an Associate Professor at Pontificia Universidad Católica Del Perú, was awarded a travel grant to attend IAMCR 2019. He presented the paper "Análisis longitudinal de los frames partisano y temático en las elecciones presidenciales peruanas 2016" to the Political Communication Research Section.
Twenty five travel grants worth up to US$1,500 each will be made available to early-stage scholars, who are members of IAMCR, reside in low and middle income countries and have papers accepted for presentation at our upcoming conference in Tampere.
Marc Agon Pacoma is Assistant Professor at Adamson University in Philippines. He received a travel grant to attend IAMCR 2019 in Madrid. This was the second time he attended an IAMCR conference.
Gideon Tehwui Lambiv is a PhD student and Assistant Lecturer at the School of Mass Communication (ASMAC/ESSTIC) of the University of Yaounde II in Cameroon. He was awarded a travel grant to present his paper "Globalization, Deregulation and Public Service Broadcasting in Cameroon" to the Public Service Media Policies Working Group.
Sadia Jamil, an independent researcher from Pakistan received a travel grant to attend IAMCR 2019 in Madrid. She presented her paper "A widening digital divide and its impacts on existing social inequalities and democracy in Pakistan" to the Digital Divide Working Group.
Gilberto Alves Araújo is a PhD candidate at the School of Literature, Languages and Media of the University of the Witwatersrand, in South Africa. He received a travel grant to present his paper "Black immigrants in Brazilian and South African media: a Critical Discourse Analysis through the conceptions of race and ethnicity" to the Diaspora and Media Working Group.
Joseph Crawford, a PhD student at Universidad del Norte, Colombia received a travel grant to present his paper to the Emerging Scholars Network Section at IAMCR 2019. In this article he reflects on the experience both from the human and academic perspectives.
Alpha Obika, a PhD candidate at the Caribbean School of Media and Communication, University of the West Indies, in Jamaica, was awarded a travel grant to present his paper "Postcolonial Governmentality of Communication: Theorizing ICT Governance in a Caribbean Context" to the Emerging Scholars Network Section.
Ana Bizberge is Director of the Master Program in Cultural Industries at Universidad Nacional de Quilmes and Teaching Assistant at University of Buenos Aires, in Argentina. She was awarded a travel grant to attend IAMCR 2019 in Madrid. She sent us her reflections about the experience.
Allen Munoriyarwa, a Doctoral Student at the University of Johannesburg, Republic of South Africa, received a travel grant to present his paper "Who is the arbiter of truth? Mainstream journalists’ responses to fake news during the military coup in Zimbabwe" at IAMCR 2019 in Madrid.