Open Science roundtable

Photo (cc) https://unsplash.com/@impatrickt

What does the Open Science Movement mean for the future of the field of media and communication?

The IAMCR Publications Committee will be hosting the first in a series of talks exploring the politics of knowledge and its dissemination.

When: 9 February 2023, at 14h00 UTC / 09h00 New York / 14h00 London / 15h00 Paris / 17h00 Nairobi / 19h30 Kolkata / 22h00 Beijing. The event will last 90 minutes.

Pre-registration is required by 23h59 UTC on 07 February 2023. //  Register here.

Moderator: Prof Claudia Padovani, IAMCR Publications Committee.

Speakers 

Prof Lucy Montgomery, Professor of Knowledge Innovation, Curtin University, Australia
Lucy Montgomery is the co-lead of the Curtin Open Knowledge Initiative: a major strategic research project exploring how big data can help universities to understand their performance as Open Knowledge Institutions. 

Dr Fereshteh Rafieian Najafabadi, Associate Programme Specialist, Science Technology and Innovation Policy, UNESCO.

Location: The meeting will take place on Zoom. Attendees will receive their personal invitation at least 24 hours before the event begins.

Who can participate: The event is open to the general public, but space is limited. Pre-registration is required by 07 February 2023.  //  Register here.


About the series

This series of conversations, hosted by the IAMCR’s Publications Committee, will explore the possibilities of open access publishing, and ways of achieving greater diversity and inclusion in systems of knowledge generation and dissemination. Drawing on multiple perspectives from across the globe, the series seeks to discuss how we can achieve a genuinely participatory, multi-vocal epistemic landscape. This would foster a productive dialogue around knowledge exchange, co-creation, with an interest in understanding alternative epistemologies, methods, and pedagogies.

The series will have two strands: the first will look at the possibilities, potential and challenges of Open Access publishing, while the second will explore how communication and media studies can grow beyond dominant epistemologies.