S/WG elections 2024

Photo (cc) Unsplash user Stefan Moertl

2024 schedule and procedures for Section & Working Group elections

See the 2024 election results

Several of IAMCR's sections and working groups will be holding online elections in 2024. They are listed below. Note that many of them are having partial elections, with only one or two chairs/vice-chairs being elected while other chairs/vice-chairs continue in the current mandate.

The elections will be held online from 23 April to 14 May using the SurveyMonkey platform. 

Individual members and representatives of institutional members in good standing, who are also registered as members of the Section or Working Group are eligible to stand for a position and to vote.

The call for candidates closed on 16 April. See who they are and read their statements by going to the specific pages of each Section and Working Group listed below.

Sections and Working Groups scheduled to hold elections in 2024

  1. Community Communication and Alternative Media Section
  2. Gender and Communication Section
  3. Global Media Policy Working Group
  4. International Communication Section
  5. Islam and Media Working Group
  6. Media, Communication and Sport Section
  7. Media Production Analysis Working Group
  8. Media Sector Development Working Group
  9. Music, Audio, Radio and Sound Working Group
  10. Participatory Communication Research Section
  11. Visual Culture Working Group


  • 26 March - call for candidates launched
  • 16 April - deadline to receive candidate statements
  • 23 April to 14 May - voting period
  • 20 May - Election results announced