Travel grants awarded

Photo (CC)

Twenty travel grants worth more than US$27,000 have been offered to early-stage scholars who are members of IAMCR from low and middle income countries. The winners include 14 women and 6 men from 12 different countries. The award winners were selected from 102 applicants.

IAMCR expresses its sincere thanks for the enthusiastic interest demonstrated by all applicants. To those who who were not selected, we wish you the best of luck in your efforts to find alternative funding. To those who were, congratulations! We look forward to welcoming you in Cartagena.

We thank the many IAMCR members who contributed to the award. IAMCR Travel Grants are funded with a percentage of IAMCR memberships, voluntary donations by IAMCR members. Our special thanks to an anonymous donor who contributed US$1,500 for an additional travel grant to be issued in the name of Professor Robin Mansell, an active member and former president of IAMCR.

The 2017 travel grant winners named are:

  1. Angella Napakol, Uganda Christian University, Uganda, Health Communication and Change & Communication and HIV/AIDS Working Groups
  2. Leah Komen, Daystar University, Communication Department, Kenya, Communication Policy & Technology Section and Communication Policy & Technology Section
  3. Ngozi Emmanuel, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Nigeria, Religion, Communication and Culture Working Group
  4. Robert Brian Semujju, University of KwaZulu-Natal, Uganda, Community Communication and Alternative Media Section
  5. Willemien Calitz, University of Cape Town, South Africa, Emerging Scholars Network and International Communication Section
  6. Yonela Vukapi, University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa, Emerging Scholars Network
  7. Arun John, University of Hyderabad, India, Participatory Communication Research Section
  8. Karthik Kamalanathan, University of Hyderabad, India, Emerging Scholars Network
  9. Lubna Shaheen, Punjab University, Pakistan, Political Communication Research Section
  10. Mohammad Raudy Gathmyr, President University, Indonesia, Islam and Media Working Group
  11. Nithila Kanagasabai, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, India, Gender and Communication Section and Journalism Research and Education Section
  12. Shudipta Sharma, University of Chittagong, Bangladesh, Community Communication and Alternative Media Section
  13. Trang Pham, University of Calgary, Vietnam, Communication Policy & Technology Section
  14. Amélia Ramos, UFF- Universidade Federal Fluminense, Brazil, Political Communication Research Section and Political Communication Research Section
  15. Camila Kieling, Pontifical Catholic University of the State of Rio Grande do Sul (PUCRS), Brazil, History Section
  16. Caroline Avila, Universidad del Azuay, Ecuador, Political Communication Research Section
  17. Mariana Suárez Esquivel, Universidad Iberoamericana, Departamento de Comunicación, Mexico, Journalism Research and Education Section
  18. Nelly Lucero Lara Chavez, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), MÉXICO, Gender and Communication Section
  19. Rachel Bertol-Domingue, Universidade Federal Fluminense (UFF) & Universidade do Estado do Rio de Janeiro (UERJ), Brazil, History Section
  20. Rolando Guevara, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Mexico, Law Section and Media and Sport Section

For more information on the travel grants, including testimonies of past grant recipients, visit the travel grant section of the website.

Please consider making a donation to the travel grant fund. It's a great way to encourage emerging scholars and new perspectives within IAMCR.

Donate in Euros Donate in USD