IAMCR election results

Return to the Election 2024 website

The voting period for the Executive Board (EB) and International Council (IC) election has ended.

Below you will find the election results, based on the report of the Election Committee, managed by Beate Josephi, Robin Mansell and Eno Akpabio.

These processes are at the very heart of our organisational democracy, and I'm particularly grateful for the excellent work of the Election Committee and the Executive Board, ensuring that everything ran smoothly.

Congratulations to those colleagues who were elected into the new EB and the new IC, and thanks to all of the candidates for standing for election. The quality of IAMCR's democratic process is dependant on people's willingness to take office, and their candidacies are highly appreciated.

Thanks to all who participated in the voting process.

Nico Carpentier, President

Executive Board and International Council members 2024 - 2028

1,132 individual member were eligible to vote
498 responses

90 institutions were eligible to vote
51 responses

1,223 voting links sent
549 responded

Total number of potential votes (eligible individuals + eligible institutions X 3) – 1,402 
Total number of votes cast (individual voters + institutional voters X 3) – 651

Download full election results

Executive Board

Daya Thussu (Hong Kong Baptist University) with 295 votes – 45% 

Vice presidents
Andrea Medrado (University of Westminster, United Kingdom) with 314 votes – 48%
Karen Arriaza Ibarra* (Complutense University of Madrid, Spain) with 209 votes – 32%

General Secretary
Jeremy Shtern (Toronto Metropolitan University, Canada) with 554 votes – 85% 

Skye Doherty (The University of Queensland, Australia) with 566 votes – 87% 

International Council (25 elected members)

  1. Murdock, Graham – Loughborough University in London, UK
  2. Vega Montiel, Aimée – National Autonomous University of Mexico
  3. Njoroge, Dorothy – United States International University-Africa, Kenya
  4. Musiani, Francesca – French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS), France
  5. Al-Ghazzi, Omar - London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), UK
  6. Castanheira, Jose Claudio – Federal Fluminense University, Brazil
  7. Paterson, Chris - School of Media and Communication, University of Leeds, UK
  8. Sanders, Willemien - Institute for Cultural Inquiry, Utrecht University, Netherlands
  9. Saavedra Utman – JorgeDiego Portales University, Chile
  10. Maarek, Philippe – Emeritus Professor of Fontainebleau - UPEC Institute of Political Studies, France
    Nkoala, Sisanda – University of the Western Cape, South Africa (ex-aequo)
  11. Baú, Valentina – Western Sydney University, Australia
  12. Chen, Changfeng – Tsinghua University, China
    Rodny-Gumede, Ylva – School of Communication, University of Johannesburg, South Africa (ex-aequo)
  13. Duarte Melo, Ana – University of Minho - CECS, Portugal
  14. Bodrunova, Svetlana – School of Journalism and Mass Communications, St. Petersburg State University, Russian Federation
  15. Dahiya, Surbhi – Indian Institute of Mass Communication, India
  16. Animwaa Yeboah-Banin – Abena University of Ghana
  17. Mjøs, Ole Johan – University of Bergen, Norway
  18. Ibrahim Hamada, Basyouni – Department of Mass Communication, Qatar University, Qatar
  19. Murphy, Patrick – Temple University’s Klein College of Media and Communication, United States
  20. Padilla, Rebeca – Autonomous University of Aguascalientes, Mexico
    Suzina, Ana Cristina – Loughborough University, UK (ex-aequo)
  21. Zoellner, Anna – University of Leeds, UK
  22. Bernstein, Alina – School of Media Studies, College of Management Academic Studies (COMAS), The Steve Tisch School of Film and Television, Tel Aviv University, Israel**

* Karen Arriaza Ibarra stood for both Vice President and International Council member, and was elected to both. Her IC position was allocated to the next highest voted IC candidate on the list.

**Shahla Adnan (Fatima Jinnah Women University, Pakistan) was elected as a member of the IC. However she is also co-chair of the proposed Inclusive Communication and People with Disabilities Working Group, and heads of sections or working groups cannot serve as elected members of the IC. Assuming the working group will be approved by the General Assembly, her IC position was allocated to the next highest voted IC candidate on the list, Alina Bernstein. If the working group is not approved by the General Assembly, Shahla Adnan will take Alina Bernstein’s place on the IC.