Travel grants awarded

 Photo (CC)

Twenty one travel grants to defray the cost of attending IAMCR 2019 will help early-stage scholars who are members of IAMCR from low and middle income countries. The winners include 9 women and 12 men from 17 different countries. The grants are worth more than US$30,000. Two of the grants were funded by anonymous donations, one of them being the Dipak De Travel Grant for Early-career South Asian Scholars, a grant to honour the memory of Professor Dipak De, a valued member and supporter of IAMCR. A total of 99 applications were received.

IAMCR expresses its sincere thanks for the enthusiastic interest demonstrated by all applicants. To those who were not selected, we wish you the best of luck in your efforts to find alternative funding. To those who were, congratulations! We look forward to welcoming you in Madrid.

We thank the many IAMCR members who contributed to the award. IAMCR Travel Grants are funded with a percentage of IAMCR membership fees and with voluntary donations by IAMCR members. Our special thanks go to the donors who made the additional travel grants available this year. 

The 2019 travel grant winners are:

  1. Gideon Tehwui Lambiv, School of Mass Communication (ASMAC/ESSTIC), University of Yaounde 2, Cameroon | Public Service Media Policies Working Group
  2. David Katiambo, Techinical University of Kenya/UNISA, Kenya | Environment, Science and Risk Communication Working Group & Popular Culture Working Group
  3. Victor Eze, Communication and Language Arts, University of Ibadan, Nigeria | Crisis Communication Working Group
  4. Gilberto Alves Araujo, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa | Diaspora and Media Working Group
  5. Allen Munoriyarwa, University of Johannesburg, South Africa | Emerging Scholars Network
  6. Kajalie Islam, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh | History Section
  7. Juan Liu, School of Journalism and communication, Renmin University of China, China | Post-Socialist and Post-Authoritarian Communication Working Group
  8. Nookaraju Bendukurthi, Central University of Kashmir, India | Crisis Communication Working Group
  9. Neha Miglani Vadhera, Panjab University Chandigarh, India | Emerging Scholars Network
  10. Srikanth Nayaka, Indian Institute of Technology, Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh, India | Media Production Analysis Working Group
  11. Samiksha Koirala, College of Journalism and Mass Communication, Nepal | Gender and Communication Section & Audience Section
  12. Sadia Jamil, IAMCR - Journalism Research and Education Section, Pakistan | Digital Divide Working Group
  13. Faiza Rafique, Forman Christian College A Chartered University, Pakistan | Gender and Communication Section
  14. Marc Pacoma, Adamson University, Philippines | Religion and Communication Working Group
  15. Pinar Aslan, Bursa Technical University, Turkey | International Communication Section
  16. Ana Bizberge, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Argentina | Political Economy Section
  17. Daniela Ortega, Universidad de São Paulo, Brazil | Visual Culture Working Group
  18. Joseph Crawford-Visbal, Universidad del Norte, Colombia | Emerging Scholars Network
  19. Alpha Obika, Caribbean School of Media and Communication, University of the West Indies, Mona Campus, Jamaica | Emerging Scholars Network
  20. Dasniel Olivera Pérez, Universidad Iberoamericana, Universidad de La Habana, Cuba | Post-Socialist and Post-Authoritarian Communication Working Group & Journalism Research and Education Section
  21. Sandro Macassi, Pontificia Universidad Católica Del Perú, Perú | Political Communication Research Section

For more information on the travel grants, including testimonies of past grant recipients, visit the travel grant section of the website.