Travel grants for Oregon 2018

Photo (CC)

26 March update: Eighteen travel grants have been offered to 13 women and 5 men who are IAMCR members from 13 different lower income countries. Sixteen of the grants were funded with a percentage of IAMCR membership fees. Two additional grants were provided by generous donations of IAMCR members who asked that their names not be announced. Thanks to the anonymous supporters and congratulations to grant recipients! The recipients names will be published once they have confirmed acceptance.


Sixteen travel grants of up to US$1,500 will be made available to early-stage scholars, who are members of IAMCR in good standing, reside in low and middle income countries and have papers accepted for presentation at our upcoming conference in Eugene, Oregon, USA. An additional travel grant, the Dipak De Travel Grant for Early-career South Asian Scholars, funded by a donation in honour of Professor Dipak De, will be awarded to an early-career IAMCR member from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, India, Pakistan, or Sri Lanka.

The grants are intended to help offset the travel costs of IAMCR members who would otherwise be unable to attend the conference.


Travel grants are available only to early-stage scholars who have no tenured position at the moment of applying, who have an abstract accepted for full presentation at the conference, who currently reside* in low or middle income countries (see the country income classification list), and who have been paid-up members of IAMCR for at least one full year - that is, who are current members and were members in 2017. Representatives and PhD student representatives of an institution that has been a member for 1 year qualify even if they were only added in the current year. The selection process seeks to support diverse participation at the conference, with priority given to under-represented regions and countries.

Representatives and PhD Student Representatives of institutional members located in low and middle income countries are eligible.

Note that for co-authored papers, only the first author is eligible for a grant unless he or she is unable to attend the conference.

The travel grant programme seeks to promote diverse participation at IAMCR conferences. In addition to the individual criteria for eligibility, the selection process will promote diversity amongst the travel grant awardees in terms of gender, region and country of residence, and will support participation of people with varying levels of prior involvement and activity in IAMCR.

Scholars who have received more than one IAMCR conference grant in the past are not eligible.

How to apply

Complete the application form on the IAMCR website. Important: You cannot apply until you receive confirmation from the head of your section or working group that your paper has been accepted for presentation. The Section and Working Group heads' decisions are due by 15 March 2018.

Application Deadline

23:59 GMT, 20 March 2018


Winners will be notified within two weeks of the deadline and will have another two weeks to confirm their acceptance, after which unconfirmed grants will be reassigned to other applicants.

Requirements after acceptance

There are two conditions for release of grant funds:

  • Successful applicants must submit their full papers online by 28 May, 2018;
  • A signed confirmation form, including a statement committing the grant recipient to reimburse the grant if he or she do not attend the conference and present their paper, must be received by IAMCR's Treasurer.

As no payment will be made before full paper submission, and international bank transfers can take up to two weeks, grant recipients are encouraged to submit their full paper as early as possible.

Costs associated with currency exchange and banking fees may be deducted from the final grant amount.

*Your country of residence is the country where you currently live, even if your residence is temporary. If you are studying, researching or teaching in a high-income country, you are considered a resident of that country and not eligible for a travel grant.