Call for Candidates - S&WG Head elections 2022

Global Media Policy Working Group

The Global Media Policy Working Group (GMP) will be holding elections for one vice chair position, for the term 2022 - 2026.

The elections will be held online from 20 May until 5 July using the SurveyMonkey platform.

Eligible members of IAMCR and of the GMP working group, are able to stand for a position and to vote. To verify if you are a member of the GMP working group, log in to your IAMCR account and select “My Sections and Working Groups” from the menu.

Interested candidates must send their name, institutional position, a statement of no more than 500 words and a photograph to with a copy to the SWG elections coordinator Andrea Medrado ( and to the GMP Working Group’s current officers, Claudia Padovani (, Arne Hintz ( and Preeti Raghunath (, no later than 29 April.

You can find the election rules at:

Read about Global Media Policy Working Group



Sara Bannerman (McMaster University, Canada)

I am an Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Communication Policy and Governance in the Communication Studies and Media Arts Department at McMaster University in Canada.  I research and teach on communication policy and governance, including traditional forms of governance such as copyright, intellectual property, and privacy; and the intersection of these with governance by code, technologies, and private entities. For example, I examine platform regulation and lobbying; the regulation of algorithmic recommender systems, privacy and datified election campaigning; privacy in the context of networked technologies, networked selves, and smart cities; crowdfunding culture, and copyright and access to knowledge. I have published two books on international copyright: International Copyright and Access to Knowledge (Cambridge University Press, 2016) and The Struggle for Canadian Copyright: Imperialism to Internationalism, 1842-1971 (UBC Press, 2013)—a history of Canadian international copyright. My most recent book is Canadian Communication Policy and Law (Canadian Scholars, 2020), examining Canadian telecommunications policy, broadcasting policy, internet regulation, freedom of expression, censorship, defamation, privacy, government surveillance, intellectual property, etc. I have published in journals such as New Media & Society, Communication Theory, New Political Economy, the Canadian Journal of Communication, Futures, and Information, Communication & Society.

I am a past vice-chair of IAMCR’s law section, and past co-chair of IAMCR’s Emerging Scholars section.  I have been attending IAMCR since 2004 and have been a member of the Global Media Policy Working Group for many years. I am a Governing Board member of the International Society for the Theory and History of Intellectual Property and Vice President of the Lambda Scholarship Foundation. I direct McMaster's Communications Governance Observatory

If elected as Vice Chair of the Global Media Policy Working Group, I would help to organize speakers, panels, roundtables, and international working group projects to take forward the important work of the working group.